Learning to Cook with Italian Chefs

Sometimes I wonder if Italy was ever named after it’s delicious cuisines. I mean, they all sound the same –“EAT ALL DAY” or EAT-(ILY). Food is the one thing I looked forward to the most when I came to Italy. It’s home to all the heavenly carbs  we have a love/hate relationship with — Pizza, pasta, gnocchi, lasagna, and all that goodies!

I was never the one to buy pastas at a restaurant back in the States, because I thought I perfected my homemade pasta from a box. It was the easiest and quickest Italian dish I knew how to make, because i lived off of them all throughout college. But little did I know… I have been cooking them WRONG this whole time!

Thanks to my study center at ACCENT in Rome, I got the opportunity to cook with Italian chefs and learn about the typical ingredients and techniques used to make authentic Italian dishes. Apparently, you should never cook the pasta first! #Oops! The correct way is to perfect the pasta sauce before cooking your pasta. MIND-BLOWN.

Anyway, cooking with Chef Carlos and Juli was one of the coolest culinary experience that I have ever had. I learned so much about Italian cuisine and got to try, test, and mainly eat during the whole process!

IMG_5002IMG_5030IMG_5003IMG_5053IMG_5041IMG_5063

What we cooked:

Homemade Foccacia Bread

Chickpea puree with cicoria ripassata

Mezze maniche all’ amatriciana

Panna cotta con rosa e miele


One thought on “Learning to Cook with Italian Chefs

Leave a comment